Letsrecover recovery forum

This is a trigger-free recovery help forum for those recovering from restrictive eating disorders, such as anorexia, bulimia, binge-restrict, overexercise or ednos.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Recovering metabolism/ uneven distribution when weight restored...?

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Hi, I'm new to this! But my basic story is that my recovery barely even counts as a recovery... I began to recover about 8 months ago and have since gained around 10 kg. However I didn't do this in a positive way - I simply fell into a period of uncontrollable circle binging and restricting, therefore I gained weight but never mentally gave my mind time to recover. I never did anything like MM, my metabolism is still shot and I haven't got my periods back. For the past 3 months I have been restricting pretty severely but falling into binges about once every 1-2 weeks, meaning I've pretty much maintained this weight. My stomach and thighs are disproportionately large, and I don't know whether this weight will redistribute or if it is just my body shape?? I am struggling with conflicted thoughts and don't even know if I can trust the scales any more - looking at my body, I consider myself beyond weight restored but I haven't actually reached a healthy BMI. There is no way I could mentally put on any more weight though, and this isn't the ED talking - nobody looking at me tells me I am underweight, I have large amounts of body fat. I want to make a full mental recovery now, and also fix my body properly - I have a feeling the way I've done things up till now probably haven't made my body too happy. But how do I go about this without gaining excess weight? How can I get my periods back and redistribute uneven weight if I'm pretty much healthy...?

Sorry for the long post, this turned a bit jumbled!

View user profile